Thankful for His Goodness…

Dear Readers,

I can hardly believe it has been 3 1/2 months since I last wrote an update…
There have been a lot of new changes, each one a sweet blessing from the Lord!
I will try my best to give a condensed look at our life since my December post.

We have re-located for my husband’s new job (still in Alabama, just further South) and we have been abundantly grateful for the Lord’s work in bringing us here. Adam’s job has been a refreshing (and needed!) change for our family and we are so thankful!
Along with his new job, we have been in the process of joining a new Church. Friends, can I just say how much I love the opportunity to gather with a faithful community of believers?! Adam and I are so thankful that the Lord brought us (quickly, I might add!) to our new Church home! This was something I prayed earnestly for, and the Lord has been gracious!

We will also be adding a new addition to our little family this September… We are almost 5 months pregnant, and rejoicing in this kind gift from the Lord! This was a fairly large surprise (finding out the week that we were moving!) but isn’t the Lord merciful to provide rest and assurance when you would expect a fretting heart? Three children under the age of 3 will certainly be busy, but we trust the Lord will provide the needed strength, grace, and patience for that season!

The past few months have also marked a sweet time of fellowship with the Lord, along with a great deal of conviction in the way of my selfishness/anxiousness and general sinfulness.
I am excited to share more about this in my next post- but for now, I’ll leave you with a few books that I have read/been reading recently– all of which I highly recommend.

1) nehemiah
Nehemiah: A Heart That Can Break, Kelly Minter.

This Bible Study is usually done in the format of a small group (along with a DVD) but I wanted something to go through while Adam and I were getting ready for the new transition of moving/finding a new Church, and this is what I chose.
Can I just tell you how much I enjoyed it?! Kelly Minter is a gifted writer/teacher and this study was such a refreshing look at the account in Nehemiah. I knew little about this book (other than the fact that it dealt with the re-building of the wall in Jerusalem) and I was so thankful for an opportunity to dig deeper into Nehemiah’s life, the difficulties he/the Israelites faced in their 52 days of re-building, and life after the Israelites were back in their homes.

2) the knowledge of the Holy
The Knowledge of The Holy, A.W. Tower

This is probably the third or fourth book I have read by Tozer and it has quickly become one of my favorites.
Our Pastor has been taking the Church through a study on this book during Wednesday night service, and I have greatly anticipated it each week!
I cannot begin to convey the amount of humbling the Lord has been working out in my heart as I have read and studied through this book.
Tozer wrote the book to address an issue he was seeing in the Church, “The Church has surrendered her once lofty concept of God and has substituted for it one so low, so ignoble, as to be utterly unworthy of thinking, worshipping men.”
He deals with the divine attributes of the Lord and seeks to help his reader understand that “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.” This means that we must be willing to study Scripture and ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any belief in our hearts that are contrary to His Word.
Tozer notes that, “Wrong ideas about God are not only the fountain from which the polluted waters of idolatry flow; they are themselves idolatrous.”

One of my favorite things about reading this book has been the way Tozer contrasts God’s amazing character to man. As he talks about the immutability of God, he also talks about the nature of man to change. It has brought an even greater sense of worship to see the Lord- in all of His strength, wisdom, and infinitude- in light of man’s weakness, foolishness and finiteness.
It has been a privilege to read this book, and I encourage you to pick up a copy.

I’ll end on that note… With more to share, I look forward to posting again soon.
Till then.

Leave a Reply

